I’ve been trying to find low carb bread and crackers as I said in this post.  I’ve mostly failed and resorted to eating the odd slice of toast and the odd water cracker to stave off my bread/crunch urges.

I’ve tried a few bread recipes.  Here are the best and the worst.

Avocado bread: I really love avocado.  I thought this bread might be nice.  It isn’t.  It was revolting and I put it straight in the bin.  This is the recipe.  Again, it was the old problem with using almond flour which just makes everything you make with it taste like almonds.  Almonds and avocado don’t go.  Nasty. 0/10

Parsnip bread: this is a recipe from Purely Twins and it was actually quite nice.  It only made 1/3 of a 1Ib loaf but went really well with chicken soup. Quite nice if a little sweet. 8/10

The Purely Twins post has 2 recipes.  I thought the second, made with butter instead of coconut oil, was better.  Here it is with the US oven temp (Fahrenheit) changed to UK (Celsius).

PARSNIP BREAD

Yield: 1 loaf (in a small 9″ x 4″ tin)

Ingredients

150g cooked parsnips (about 200g raw)
4 whole eggs (5 if using small eggs)
3 tablespoons coconut flour
3 tablespoons nut butter (we used macadamia nut butter) (ED: I used ordinary butter)
1 tablespoon gelatin (optional)
1/4 teaspoon baking powder (optional)

NOTE: You will use cooked parsnips for this recipe.  I roasted mine.  You can boil them but they turn a bit mushy that way

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees/gas mark 4
Place all the ingredients (eggs, coconut flour, butter, baking powder and gelatin if using) in a blender and blend until smooth.
Pour the batter into a lightly greased loaf tin (they used a 9″x 4″ tin – I used a 1lb loaf tin)  Or make mini breads in a muffin tin.
Bake bread for about 22-25 minutes.

Let the bread cool a little before slicing.

